The Darkness Got Me

The sun was shining but the dark was near. Every one of my window shades was up in the middle of the day but my room was pitch dark. Eerie… There was sure to be something demonic lurking in that dreary room. A man’s hand gently guided me to my bed. Odd, I thought to myself… I know EXACTLY where my bed is and who’s this man? The darkness became heavy. Like pressure. It felt like my breath was being pulled right from my body. My tiny, little body. I sat on my bed curled up in a pink blanket my mother had sewn for me as a baby. The darkness sat with me. It stared. It’s eyes were deep, empty, full of pain. It sat so close that it was starting to take my air too. The darkness asked to play a game. How could we play in this room? It said we would not need to use our eyes, just our hands. The darkness took my light. It slid right in and pretended I wanted it to. I didn’t. The darkness asked to be kept a secret. 

Leave a comment